Changing between versions

Have ideeas but don't know how?
Post Reply
User avatar
Arayas
Site Admin
Posts: 2083
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 3:25 am

Changing between versions

Post by Arayas » November 16th, 2019, 7:34 pm

Instead of using Steam to upgrade/downgrade your game it's easy to do this.
1.Make a copy of your folder game for 1.35 "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Euro Truck Simulator 2" saving it in zip archive.
2. Go to My Documents. Do the same (zip your Euro Truck Simulator 2 folder).
3.update your game to 1.36
4.start the game in 1.36
5. exit game
8.rename your folder C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Euro Truck Simulator 2 to C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\136Euro Truck Simulator 2
9. rename the My Documents/Euro Truck Simulator 2 folder to My Documents/136Euro Truck Simulator 2
4.unzip both archive (in my documents and in C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common)

Now you can continue your game in 1.35
If you want to switch to 1.36 do the same in both places: rename both Euro Truck Simulator 2 folders in 135Euro Truck Simulator 2 and remove 136 from the name of the updated to 1.36 folders.

seams complicated but it takes 4 minutes
swrdg.jpg
Editor of Romania Extended Map
support@roextended.ro
www.roextended.ro
olaf28
Posts: 14
Joined: October 17th, 2019, 11:16 am

Re: Changing between versions

Post by olaf28 » November 16th, 2019, 8:46 pm

Thanks Arayas,
I am doing this already a few years now :D :D
User avatar
Arayas
Site Admin
Posts: 2083
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 3:25 am

Re: Changing between versions

Post by Arayas » November 16th, 2019, 9:01 pm

Me too, but someone on support mail said he would like to test 1.36 but it stays on 1.35 for map combo. I maded this one for people in this situation, actualy playing in whatever version you want, even older ones.
Editor of Romania Extended Map
support@roextended.ro
www.roextended.ro
User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 3381
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Changing between versions

Post by BenganJ » November 16th, 2019, 9:11 pm

Well, I've always had a lot of game folders there, but why do the same with the Steam folders?
I think it's quite convenient to let Steam upgrade/downgrade the game files there. :D This is
my Docs/ETS2 folder right now!
My_Doc_ETS2_Folder.JPG
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@3.60GHz
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
Arayas
Site Admin
Posts: 2083
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 3:25 am

Re: Changing between versions

Post by Arayas » November 16th, 2019, 9:26 pm

I have mods folder like that, mainly for every map/RC i edit or play/test i have a mod folder. You must be joking letting Steam to do the thing. I have shortcuts on my desktop and jumping from version to another takes 10 secons.
And i do this with Steam opened in the background. :D
Editor of Romania Extended Map
support@roextended.ro
www.roextended.ro
User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 3381
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Changing between versions

Post by BenganJ » November 16th, 2019, 9:29 pm

@Arayas

Okay, you win, as usual, but NOT in football! :lol: :lol: :lol:
I have to wait for some 2 minutes or so, BAD, BAD & BAD! :lol: :lol: :lol:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@3.60GHz
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
Post Reply