Using the Map Editor

User avatar
Arayas
Site Admin
Posts: 1826
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 3:25 am

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by Arayas » April 11th, 2019, 12:19 am

You need the create a set of your templates, make your plan first, make a list of signs you need (left-straight, left simple and so on) and start create them. It hard to create one at the time you need it.
Step 2: replace old ones.

If your editor crash later when you try to place a sign, make sure you delete defaults.ini from my documents/ets2/editor to reset the editor.

No shortcuts here, i replaced all sigs from Romania twice, so... ;)
Editor of Romania Extended Map
support@roextended.ro
www.roextended.ro
User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 2917
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by BenganJ » April 11th, 2019, 12:23 am

Okay, thanks Arayas for answer. It was as I thought, but wanted to know if i could
have any use of the fact that I already had them standing in place. And thanks for
the tips with defaults.ini! :D
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@3.60GHz
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
Arayas
Site Admin
Posts: 1826
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 3:25 am

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by Arayas » April 11th, 2019, 1:23 am

Placed in place or not, you will have to revisit all of them (i'm talking about directional signs) and change them templates from standard to yours. Make sure every image placed to have "overwritable" box checked. In this way you can change the image with another when placed on map.
Also the secquence of placement it's important, first item placed (text, image or frame) it's gonna be under the second item placed. Order is important.
You can make multiple use templates. You can place multiple items on top of another and later on map placement you will select opacity 1 just for the one you want to be seen in that situation and 0 for the rest.

You will figure it out, you are a tech guy after all. :D
Editor of Romania Extended Map
support@roextended.ro
www.roextended.ro
User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 2917
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by BenganJ » April 11th, 2019, 1:48 am

Well, as I've seen that Sign Editor tutorial of yours, that was in a "thousand" words what
a video can show in a "thousand" images. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

But seriously, that tips about several layers above each other was new to me, so THANK YOU
for that! :D :D :D :D :D
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@3.60GHz
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
Arayas
Site Admin
Posts: 1826
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 3:25 am

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by Arayas » April 11th, 2019, 2:00 am

I dont have all in tutorials, some aces are still in my sleave :D
Editor of Romania Extended Map
support@roextended.ro
www.roextended.ro
User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 2917
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by BenganJ » April 11th, 2019, 2:04 am

That's why you're so good at this mate!
You've earned those aces by hard work! :D
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@3.60GHz
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
ExtremorPL
Posts: 217
Joined: April 11th, 2019, 7:16 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by ExtremorPL » April 11th, 2019, 7:26 pm

Hi!

I want to make Turkmenistan map addon for Europe but...
I don't know how to "expand" map editor's background map for Turkmenistan.

Any suggestions?
Currently working on Road to Asia Map, somewhere in Turkmenistan. :D Our Discord server: https://discord.gg/48JZu2d
User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 2917
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by BenganJ » April 11th, 2019, 7:32 pm

Well, it's a bit of work to do, but I used a special site where you can
more or less design your own map in higher resolution than what SCS
has in its own, then one has to register that image, so that it is in the
correct scale and positioned and rotated correctly. Arayas may have
another suggestion for you, we'll see.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@3.60GHz
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
Arayas
Site Admin
Posts: 1826
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 3:25 am

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by Arayas » April 11th, 2019, 7:34 pm

Well, if it is something hard to do is creating your own editor background (not map background).

The most complete (but also complicated) tutorial is here: https://www.promods.net/viewtopic.php?t=18827
Editor of Romania Extended Map
support@roextended.ro
www.roextended.ro
User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 2917
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by BenganJ » April 11th, 2019, 7:55 pm

The site I used is this one:
http://www.chengfolio.com/google_map_customizer
And I also used an extension to Google Chrome to save the
generated map, this one:
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/deta ... mgjaogfceg
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@3.60GHz
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
Post Reply