World Background Maps

MG Mike
Posts: 166
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 7:09 pm

Re: World Background Maps

Post by MG Mike » October 9th, 2019, 12:31 pm

Russmap Def?
OK I look at it..maybe it has wrong position at this profile..
That are so small details that can easy. Be overseen and can cause the end of the world.. (almost) :lol:

But as so many times, the easiest solutions are the best solutions.. With a little luck, it is exactly what yoi mean, I check it asap
User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 2917
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: World Background Maps

Post by BenganJ » October 9th, 2019, 12:34 pm

@MG Mike

Oh, I'm NOT sure if that's your problem, I just know it was one solution at
one point in time! :D

EDIT: Could you please post an image of the Map View for that profile, where
UK is misaligned? Somehow the game engine scale the Promods UK area down
to 1:19, in spite of Promods originally told the game to not bother with that,
as they had their own BG in Map View. A game log would not hurt either! :D
Or even better than that, the info.sii file from the latest save in that profile.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@3.60GHz
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
id777
Posts: 195
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 2:53 pm

Re: World Background Maps

Post by id777 » October 10th, 2019, 12:21 am

Hope to play with your background with right placed maps such as Promods, Southern Region, Great Steppe in future. Now it's not so beautiful, eastern maps are much wrong placed.
User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 2917
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: World Background Maps

Post by BenganJ » October 10th, 2019, 12:31 am

I agree, that's the reason why I started out on this journey. All the upcoming Middle East
maps and also the Mahgreb map, Morocco, Algeria and Tunisia has gotten Map Editor BG's
to be able to map in the correct locations! :D
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@3.60GHz
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 2917
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: World Background Maps

Post by BenganJ » October 10th, 2019, 3:37 pm

I'm still not sure if this is going to work, but I just managed to get this large area of
the EurAsia map out from Google as an image with a resolution of 18625x23469 and
a DPI=3000. Never mind the missing tiles, the white areas. I'm a stubborn guy, so I
will make another try! :D
WG_SAT_BG.jpg
NOTE that Japan, Philippines, Indonesia, New Guinea, Australia, New Zeeland and
Tasmania and more is the goal here!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@3.60GHz
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
gmtavares
Posts: 26
Joined: March 6th, 2019, 6:49 pm

Re: World Background Maps

Post by gmtavares » October 11th, 2019, 1:41 pm

Will it also make Australia look distorted in-game?
User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 2917
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: World Background Maps

Post by BenganJ » October 11th, 2019, 1:58 pm

@gmtavares

Have you read anything about what I have documented here or what Wikipedia
has to say about the Lambert Conic Conformal map projection? You have the earth
projected on a cone that has its top over the north pole and cuts the earth surface
at two different latitudes. That means that the projection will ONLY be correct
100% along those cutting lines running around the globe. With the parameters that
SCS has specified, where the center position is in Prague and the two latitudes
are at 37 resp. 65 degrees North, you can imagine that the further south you get
the greater distortion you get.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@3.60GHz
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
gmtavares
Posts: 26
Joined: March 6th, 2019, 6:49 pm

Re: World Background Maps

Post by gmtavares » October 11th, 2019, 3:25 pm

I didn't explain myself correctly.
What I mean is - I does mean australia, for example, won't be in 1:19, right?
MG Mike
Posts: 166
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 7:09 pm

Re: World Background Maps

Post by MG Mike » October 11th, 2019, 3:28 pm

Hi there,

ok here are some screens

Image

Image

Image

and although i only load this profile without driving one meter, the log is big, probably cause of many mods in there, so it is in 4 parts:











since i can´t open sii files, here you can download it:

http://www.mediafire.com/file/v8qx4rf9d ... o.sii/file

i hope it can help in any way
User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 2917
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: World Background Maps

Post by BenganJ » October 11th, 2019, 3:31 pm

@gmtavares

The map, as created by the mapper, will be in the scale chosen in
the map settings. What we're talking about here is ONLY the display
of the background in the Map View and Job View in-game. It has
NOTHING to do with real map scale!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@3.60GHz
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
Post Reply