[REL] Caribbean Map for ATS 1.0.2 by TerraMaps

User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 7505
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: [WIP] Caribbean Map for ATS

Post by BenganJ » September 28th, 2020, 6:37 pm

@b738pilot

Okay, I'll see what I can do! I'm going to start with this project now then!
I'll keep you informed! You have requested the OpenStreetMap kind of BG,
so that's what you gonna get!

EDIT: I think we should take this area in a first step and make another BG
if and when you will get to the eastern most islands! The original image
that was fetched from OpenStreetMap has a resolution of 20150x20150.
What you see here is just screenshot of that full image.
Image

Some interesting info about the original image.
Image
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
b738pilot
PPM
Posts: 36
Joined: September 4th, 2020, 2:57 am

Re: [WIP] Caribbean Map for ATS

Post by b738pilot » September 28th, 2020, 6:49 pm

That's beautiful! Yeah I like it a lot! That'll for sure make it more convenient for me to plot the cities/towns on the islands where they should go
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 7505
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: [WIP] Caribbean Map for ATS

Post by BenganJ » September 28th, 2020, 6:55 pm

@­b738pilot

Okay then, it'll take some time to register the ME BG, a very tedious process,
flipping in and out of Editor and game multiple times, mostly around 50 - 60.
But I'll get there! Stay tuned! :moil:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 7505
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: [WIP] Caribbean Map for ATS

Post by BenganJ » September 28th, 2020, 7:22 pm

@­b738pilot

BTW, are you mapping with C2C loaded into the Editor too,
to be able to use resources from it? If so, do you start the
Editor with -edit usa? Or are you only mapping with your
own map loaded and if so, what name are you using when
editing the map as argument to -edit?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
b738pilot
PPM
Posts: 36
Joined: September 4th, 2020, 2:57 am

Re: [WIP] Caribbean Map for ATS

Post by b738pilot » September 28th, 2020, 9:32 pm

Great, thanks!! Really appreciate it.

I start the editor with C2C in the folder as I created a ferry connection between Lauderdale and Nassau as well as built up a ferry port in that same sector. That is the only sector being carried over from C2C. Miami and Boca are not included. Map has been tested thoroughly to ensure a smooth transition and road connection.

I open the editor with -edit caribmap so I only work on my sectors and that one from Lauderdale.

Also, I am not using any resources from mantrid or C2C map as I'm avoiding being a dependency. Technically someone without C2C could download the map and I can make a non C2C version removing the Lauderdale sector, but it really wouldn't be enjoyable as you wouldn't be able to join the west coast and a ferry from San Diego to Nassau is just ... no. :) So either way, someone who is interested in this map should have C2C.
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 7505
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: [WIP] Caribbean Map for ATS

Post by BenganJ » September 29th, 2020, 3:04 pm

@b738pilot

Exactly as I did it when I made my SwedishIslands map, but I "borrowed" only 1 sector from SCS Vanilla,
the one I needed to build the bridge over to one of the islands. Okay, then I think I have what I need.
I will refer to the map as caribmap so it will work out of the box for you.

EDIT: The ME BG is now finished! Check PM!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
olaf28
PPM
Posts: 556
Joined: October 17th, 2019, 11:16 am
Location: Gorinchem, Netherlands

Re: [WIP] Caribbean Map for ATS

Post by olaf28 » November 2nd, 2020, 5:26 pm

November 2nd, 2020 Version 1.0 has entered it's final beta testing stage!

Patreons should get an early release and within the next weeks a public version will be released.

Image

Nassau, The Bahamas
Image

Image

Image

I bet y'all have never seen this in ATS/ETS 2 before
Image
TerraMaps Support Manager
Red Sea Map I Caribbean Map
Discord: https://discord.com/invite/kvqE3z3

Windows 10
Processor: i7-9750H 2,6 GHz (max. 4,5 GHz)
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS ROG -STRIX-RTX2060-O6G-GAMING 6 GB GDDR6
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 7505
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: [WIP] Caribbean Map for ATS

Post by BenganJ » November 2nd, 2020, 6:48 pm

Really good looking stuff! :good2: :victory:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
b738pilot
PPM
Posts: 36
Joined: September 4th, 2020, 2:57 am

Re: [WIP] Caribbean Map for ATS

Post by b738pilot » November 3rd, 2020, 10:38 am

User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 7505
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: [WIP] Caribbean Map for ATS

Post by BenganJ » November 3rd, 2020, 12:15 pm


LOOKS
DAMN
GOOD!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
Post Reply