[DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Make your game even better
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 7535
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by BenganJ » December 1st, 2020, 2:28 am

@Tapir

Yeah, that's me in a nutshell, so I will need support to unpack it!
😂😂😂😂😂
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
JHTrucker
Posts: 796
Joined: February 7th, 2020, 3:19 pm
Location: UK

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by JHTrucker » December 1st, 2020, 3:26 am

@BenganJ - that big box may not look so good in a few months...

Current games do this:
Generate frame + render + (ssao post process).

We force MSAA on to that:
Generate frame + render + MSAA + (ssao post process - doesn't work now).

I think MSAA messes with the depth buffer and therefore ssao can't "see" where to apply itself once that's happened.
I could show you screen shots with an almost black covered driving screen with flashes of light here and there as the ssao process goes crazy when looking around...

We need a way to do this:
Generate frame + render + (ssao post process) + MSAA

But that's not possible to tell MSAA to wait until the ssao post process has finished before applying it, i don't think and i've been trying a lot of things on and off over the past months.

But anyway... this is the main reason for this post.
Now this in the new scs blog regarding new lighting for 1.40:
"All internal rendering is fully taking place in HDR, with a series of post-processing steps during the camera exposure stage making sure that the result is crisp and believable."

1.40 games do this (guess):
Generate frame + render + (hdr post process) + (ssao post process).

We force MSAA on to that:
Generate frame + render + MSAA + (hdr post process) + (ssao post process) = ???

Say goodbye to using MSAA or if HDR can be turned off (like it can now & ssao) then there's still a chance for those of us that don't run with hdr on anyway.
NPI AA: viewtopic.php?p=13049#p13049
TRACKIR closed window block: viewtopic.php?p=19250#p19250
Additional non standard screen configs: viewtopic.php?p=17658#p17658
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 7535
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by BenganJ » December 1st, 2020, 9:29 am

@JHTrucker

I'm NOT using the box as a screen mate! It's what inside it I will mount on my 3-arm monitor stand today hopefully! 😂😂😂

Yes, you may well be totally right there. If you remember I've been talking about a ReShade shader called SuperDepth3D,
which I earlier used in that phone-VR context to create a 3D environment from the normal 2D one. It used the depth buffer
to do that, but when DX11 and later SSAO came in the ETS2/ATS games, there were some problems using that depth buffer
in the old successful way and it all ended up as NOT being able to use ReShade at all in our AA scheme. SCS has destroyed
our intentions before, so they might well be able to do it this time too. Let's wait and see!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
Luisb01
Posts: 23
Joined: November 15th, 2020, 5:28 pm

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by Luisb01 » December 1st, 2020, 5:34 pm

JHTrucker wrote:
December 1st, 2020, 3:26 am

1.40 games do this (guess):
Generate frame + render + (hdr post process) + (ssao post process).

We force MSAA on to that:
Generate frame + render + MSAA + (hdr post process) + (ssao post process) = ???

Say goodbye to using MSAA or if HDR can be turned off (like it can now & ssao) then there's still a chance for those of us that don't run with hdr on anyway.
So @JHTrucker, in a nutshell, we won´t be able to use NPI anymore? We´re having "crisp graphics" but with poor AA?
killingjoke
Posts: 37
Joined: July 5th, 2020, 9:13 pm

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by killingjoke » December 1st, 2020, 11:57 pm

I guess SCS won't implement a new AA in 1.40 since they did not mention it sadly. It will be a tough time waiting for an AA solution then.
User avatar
JHTrucker
Posts: 796
Joined: February 7th, 2020, 3:19 pm
Location: UK

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by JHTrucker » December 2nd, 2020, 2:05 am

@Luisb01 & killingjoke
That is my guess based on what they say in that blog... if they use post processing effects instead then those effects get added to the image after MSAA, but MSAA seems to mess up what those techniques need to use to work correctly.

It maybe that MSAA will only work if the new hdr can be disabled, but if you like hdr then you'll have a choice to make.

Regarding proper AA... scs added smaa because that's a post process also (i think) and works for all graphics card manufactures.
Years ago in the scs forum i seem to remember someone like Max (scs) saying something like, we wanted realtime shadows which needs deferred rendering and you can't apply AA to a deferred rendered image. It was a design choice at that time for their engine.
So people on scs forum constantly asking for proper AA won't get it because of that and any developer who could add AA wouldn't need to be told by the customers, they'd just do it to make their game look the best it can. So scaling is used as a sort of brute force AA, but that doesn't fix shimmering/flickering.
Scs told us we were getting smaa/ssao and now hdr quite early, not a surprise, so if AA was on the list they would surely have said "and yes were adding proper AA in a future update also".

I'm more than happy to be totally wrong.

No need to do this... i'm just saying:
If you edit config.cfg - uset r_deferred "1" <-- change to "0" you'll lose all shadows and projected light beams (headlights) etc.
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 7535
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by BenganJ » December 2nd, 2020, 2:21 am

@JHTrucker

Yep, I tested that r_deferred when I read what Max said, but I really changed back fast as hell! :laugh3: :laugh3: :laugh3:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
guigehlen
Posts: 7
Joined: December 2nd, 2020, 8:47 am

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by guigehlen » December 2nd, 2020, 9:08 am

Guys, if anyone can help I'll be realy grateful!

I play in a Laptop, and have a second screen, but I only use the main screen of the laptop to play! My question is, do I use the single or dual Multimon file? Because I already have tested both and no one makes the AA works inside the game! I've done each step right, and I've already try to delete the config.cfg and then rewrite the step 3, and unistalling the NVIDIA driver with DDU in Safe Mode, the installing the last one!

The Only thing that I didn't try yet, because i don't understant are to config the dual Multimon file for him to work with only one screen!

Sorry for my bad english!!!
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 7535
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by BenganJ » December 2nd, 2020, 9:17 am

@guigehlen

Welcome! May I start by asking if you see the same thing on the second screen as on the main one!
Another way to put it. if you start the game, will it be displayed on both or do you have to switch
between the two, only one activated at a time. Or have you expanded the desktop with the second
screen to get a bigger desktop area? In either case, we will want the latest game log from you and
also as many screenshots it takes to show us the NPI settings! As long as you use ONLY one screen
to display the game image, you ought to use the Single monitor multimon file! I have 3 screens, but
run the game ONLY on the center one, so I use that Single file!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
guigehlen
Posts: 7
Joined: December 2nd, 2020, 8:47 am

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by guigehlen » December 2nd, 2020, 9:44 am

@BenganJ

Thanks for give your time to help me! Yes, I use the second screen in Extended mode, when I open any game they run only in the main screen, and in the other i use other programs (Google Chrome, Discord, WhatsApp, TrucksBook, .....)! I'll let below the link with the Images and the game.log.txt file, I've put them into a .rar and upload on my Gdrive!

Post Reply