[DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Make your game even better
Gabe777
Posts: 13
Joined: September 9th, 2020, 5:34 pm

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by Gabe777 » July 18th, 2022, 5:21 pm

BTW.

Does this work for ATS too ?

EDIT.... YES!

I have a problem with mirrors being very low quality and jaggy image.

I have followed everything to a T.

On 1.44 with RTX 3070 and latest Geforce drive 516x ?

Thnx
User avatar
JHTrucker
Posts: 1125
Joined: February 7th, 2020, 3:19 pm
Location: UK

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by JHTrucker » July 20th, 2022, 5:10 pm

@Gabe777 - I assume you've worked out where you went wrong... if not...

First Post:
Step 3:
uset r_mirror_scale_y "1" //To get AA in the mirrors too! Shows in game as Mirror Resolution = Medium. DON'T CHANGE!
uset r_mirror_scale_x "1" //See above.

Or in game:
'Mirror Resolution' = Medium - otherwise there's no mirror AA.
'Mirror Quality' = Medium or High - (Low = no mirror AA)
'Mirror Distance' = Whatever you want... 'ultra' for your 3070.

If you've been reading other posts (up to page 49) then mirror quality had to be low at that time.
Ignore other posts. The first post has all the correct/up to date info to get this AA working.
As long as the game runs on DX11 the AA will work no matter the game version or DLC you drive in for both ETS2 or ATS.
Gabe777
Posts: 13
Joined: September 9th, 2020, 5:34 pm

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by Gabe777 » July 21st, 2022, 11:51 am

Hiya.

Yes I have the mirror rez set correctly.

Here's the thing: side mirrors are perfect in ETS2.... the issue is just in ATS .

Any ideas ?

Many thanks.
User avatar
JHTrucker
Posts: 1125
Joined: February 7th, 2020, 3:19 pm
Location: UK

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by JHTrucker » July 21st, 2022, 7:16 pm

@Gabe777 - You said "I have a problem with mirrors being very low quality and jaggy image."

That sounds like you have mirrors set to 'low quaility' and therefore AA won't work even though you have mirror res on medium.
Config.cfg should look like this:
uset r_mirror_scale_y "1"
uset r_mirror_scale_x "1"
uset r_deferred_mirrors "2"

Try this:
Rename or delete the config.cfg file and allow the game to create a new one, set your in game settings and then apply step 3 settings to it.

Previously in this thread Robinicus had the same problem with ATS...
Read this post and the next few below it. http://roextended.ro/forum/viewtopic.php?p=43930#p43930

Hope that helps.
Gabe777
Posts: 13
Joined: September 9th, 2020, 5:34 pm

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by Gabe777 » July 22nd, 2022, 2:11 pm

On it.

Will get back to you.

Extra variables are complicating things for me.

I'm also trying different AA combos at 4K, and comparing VRR versus 60 fps fixed (with Adaptive) set in nVidia inspector.

Game is badly optimised. I'm getting 80fps on the road and then go into an 'empty' tunnel... with its fancy lighting... and it drops to 40 !

Of course cockpit (or cab,) view is 50 percent of outside view fps, too. A real PITA.

So my experiments continue.

Thnx.
User avatar
JHTrucker
Posts: 1125
Joined: February 7th, 2020, 3:19 pm
Location: UK

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by JHTrucker » July 22nd, 2022, 6:14 pm

It's not 'extra', i'm just making sure you have the correct settings.

uset r_deferred_mirrors "0" = Mirror quality LOW
uset r_deferred_mirrors "1" = Mirror quality MEDIUM
uset r_deferred_mirrors "2" = Mirror quality HIGH

The game uses 'deferred rendering' and NPI AA is forced on to that finished image. "low quaility" mirrors don't use 'deferred rendering' --> "0" and hence why no AA is applied to them.

"Game is badly optimised" or rather the problem is that the game only runs on 1 cpu core despite the fact that everyone that runs these games has a multicore cpu and anyone complaining on scs forum gets told that they have "a potato pc" when really its "potato software" by modern standards.

CPU generates each frame and GPU renders them.
If the CPU is too busy running everything else in the game you'll get fewer fps no matter how good your gpu is.

Adding DX12 won't fix that. But adding multicore support will give everyone a massive performance boost.

But SCS will change to DX12 first and everyone on older hardware that doesn't support it (my gtx760 for example) will have to stop playing or stick to the last DX11 version.
fl0wf1r3
Posts: 2
Joined: November 27th, 2019, 3:01 pm

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by fl0wf1r3 » August 1st, 2022, 9:21 pm

Hello, since driver version 516.59 the settings in NPI are getting resettet. Not everything but the line for AO and DX11. It never happened before. Does this only happens to me?

--- Ambient Occlusion compatibility ------------------ '0x00000032(FIFA14)'
--- Antialiasing compatibility (DX1x) ------------------ '0x80000A7F'

After restart it looks like this: 🤷‍♀️

--- Ambient Occlusion compatibility ------------------ '0x00000000'
--- Antialiasing compatibility (DX1x) ------------------ '0x00000000'

Image
Last edited by fl0wf1r3 on August 2nd, 2022, 8:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
clear F1
PPM
Posts: 1048
Joined: January 23rd, 2019, 5:32 pm
Location: Nagoya, JAPAN
Contact:

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by clear F1 » August 2nd, 2022, 3:18 am

fl0wf1r3 wrote:
August 1st, 2022, 9:21 pm
Hello, since driver version 516.59 the settings in NPI are getting resettet. Not everything but the line for AO and DX11. It never happened before. Does this only happens to me?

--- Ambient Occlusion compatibility ------------------ '0x00000032(FIFA14)'
--- Antialiasing compatibility (DX1x) ------------------ '0x80000A7F'

After restart it looks like this: 🤷‍♀️

--- Ambient Occlusion compatibility ------------------ '0x00000000'
--- Antialiasing compatibility (DX1x) ------------------ '0x00000000'
Just load the file saved by NPI and click "Apply changes". If you forget to save it, you can only set it again on the first page. And reset the NCP.
Intel i9-10850K OC 5GHz
Asus PRIME Z490-A
G.Skill DDR4-3600 32GB
Palit RTX 2070 Super JS OC 8G
Samsung SSD m.2 x2
fl0wf1r3
Posts: 2
Joined: November 27th, 2019, 3:01 pm

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by fl0wf1r3 » August 2nd, 2022, 8:52 pm

what do you mean by: If you forget to save it, you can only set it again on the first page ? you mean export the profile? this is how I do it, I loaded the profile for ATS and apply changes. After reboot the setting for DX1x got reset. I started again with the whole profile and reset it in the NCP. Didn't work. Same thing again the next day. I never had this issue, hm
User avatar
Tapir
PPM
Posts: 2460
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 3:07 pm
Location: Stratford, UK

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by Tapir » August 2nd, 2022, 9:45 pm

Are you sure your save was really complete ?

Go to first page means you should repeat all settings that are shown on page 1. (viewtopic.php?f=23&t=1000)

EDIT:

Just tested: Import profile: Base profile : All settings again ok.
After that important: "Apply changes"

System: Windows 11 PRO
Processor: Intel i7-6700K @4.5GHz OC
Motherboard: ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming
Memory: G.Skill DDR4-3000 16GB
Graphics: 6GB MSI GeForce GTX 1660 SUPER Gaming X
Post Reply