[DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Make your game even better
User avatar
JHTrucker
Posts: 665
Joined: February 7th, 2020, 3:19 pm
Location: UK

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by JHTrucker » July 31st, 2020, 5:52 pm

subroutine wrote:
July 31st, 2020, 8:59 am
JHTrucker wrote:
July 31st, 2020, 1:21 am
subroutine wrote:
July 30th, 2020, 8:38 pm


1 - I tried running on the monitor and the AA works so it's a VR issue.

2- I have the monitor/in-game res set to the monitor res of 2560x1440. I have the rift at standard res.

3 - No, nothing worked.

4 - Yes , buffer scale at default 1
@subroutine

Thanks for answers.
He's 2 more things to try.

1 - With uset r_multimon_mode "4" still set in config.cfg, delete the multimon_config.sii file you added. Now run the game in vr mode then close it. Did the game generate a new multimon_config.sii file? If so, could you attach it and i'll try to add the AA parts.

2 - If no file, then this may work but it will kill your frames.
The game will only have AA applied if the rendered image resolution = game resolution.
For single monitors it does.
For multi monitors it doesn't.
VR is 2 rendered images a bit like dual monitor setup, i guess.
In config.cfg set these:
uset r_scale_y "1"
uset r_scale_x "2"
That will double the resolution width for each eye (if it's the same as dual monitors) and show as custom 200% in game.
Google says "rift res is 1280x1440" so that's half your in game res per eye.
Edit: Without using the multimon file you may see the gfx flip in the menu and driving screen, you'll know what i mean if you see it. My original fix was to set the game menu background to "waves" in game play menu. No garage scene, just truck. Then it's fine... until you go into dealer or service upgrade, the gfx will flip. So to fix, untick HDR, gfx reload and do the upgrade/buy stuff and then tick HDR when back in truck.
The multimon file was the solution to all that mess.

My custom made multimon_config.sii files are the best way to go for multi monitors as there's no scale increase and therefore much better fps. So VR would be good to use one, if it can.

If nothing works... does any software that runs the VR device have scaling options that perhaps should be 100% to match the game 100%?
1- No file is created.
2- I have the original Rift so res is 1080 x 1200. Are you saying the in-game resolution setting has to match my Rift rather than the monitor I have ? I can supersample using Oculus Tray Tool and that really sharpens the image but if anything, the jaggies are worse.
@subroutine - Remember, i don't have VR so i'm just guessing based on the work i did for multi's to have AA.
You won't get a res on the monitor to match your rift.
I think you should just try:
In config.cfg set these:
uset r_scale_y "1"
uset r_scale_x "2"
I realise that each eye is basically the same image with a slight offset rather than dual monitors which have difference images and sat next to each other.
But perhaps the game renders these eye images in a rectangle next to each other, like a dual, but that image is 2160x1200, the game displays that on your monitor as game res but the rift splits it in halve for each eye.
So my assumption is that doubling each eye width (uset r_scale_x "2") should enable AA because they are now full size.

If that doesn't work and the rift is somehow linked to game res... try:
Keep your in game res as it is.
In config.cfg set these:
uset r_scale_y "1"
uset r_scale_x "2.37037037037037"
If the game rounds it off 1080 won't equal 2560 and therefore no AA.

EDIT: Also, anything on the rift that enhances the image should be turned off for testing this.
For best AA results always use latest files.
First post STEP 2 files updated 10/04/2020 viewtopic.php?f=19&t=1000
Additional non standard screen configs to try: viewtopic.php?p=17658#p17658
User avatar
f*red
PPM
Posts: 24
Joined: May 19th, 2020, 10:28 pm

Re: ROEXTENDED 2.7 [1.38]

Post by f*red » July 31st, 2020, 9:17 pm

BenganJ wrote:
July 31st, 2020, 10:28 am
@­f*red

You could need a better antialiasing (AA), like the one we have managed to achieve here in this topic.

viewtopic.php?p=13049#p13049

I guess you use the game SMAA AA, which is useless. Nice video though!
I am actually using the settings in the pic. Can you please advise if I did something wrong? And thank you very much!
Untitled.png
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 6646
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: ROEXTENDED 2.7 [1.38]

Post by BenganJ » July 31st, 2020, 9:33 pm

@f*red

In game Scaling 100% and SMAA disabled? Multimon_config.sii file in correct place and for the correct monitor setup?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
f*red
PPM
Posts: 24
Joined: May 19th, 2020, 10:28 pm

Re: ROEXTENDED 2.7 [1.38]

Post by f*red » July 31st, 2020, 9:39 pm

Yes, done all that!
On the other hand, I can say that I just switched from the Radeon boat (like one week ago), applied the NPI tutorial/ settings and, Boy, what a difference does it make! I dunno why you say, AA looks really great to me... maybe my eye is not that pro like yours :laugh1:
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 6646
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: ROEXTENDED 2.7 [1.38]

Post by BenganJ » July 31st, 2020, 9:49 pm

@f*red

Can you take enough screenshots to cover the whole NPI, then ZIP those together
with the latest game log. Let me then have that zip one way or other. Which type
of graphics card do you have?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
f*red
PPM
Posts: 24
Joined: May 19th, 2020, 10:28 pm

Re: ROEXTENDED 2.7 [1.38]

Post by f*red » July 31st, 2020, 9:56 pm

Having an EVGA 1080 FTW, will do the zip and edit this comment adding it.
fred.zip
(369.89 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
Wombat`s live is over now lol
Last edited by f*red on July 31st, 2020, 10:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
subroutine
Posts: 8
Joined: July 29th, 2020, 7:40 pm
Location: UK

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by subroutine » August 1st, 2020, 4:09 pm

Thanks very much for your help but none of that helped. I currently run uset r_scale_y "1.5". uset r_scale_x "1.7" (255%) , uset r_manual_stereo_buffer_scale "1.2" and in game AA at medium. It's the best image I can get and maintain 90fps although it's still flickers / aliasing, especially in the distance. It's a shame the game doesn't support better anti aliasing out of the box.
Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI - Windows10 64 PRO
Ryzen 7 2700X
Team Group Dark PRO DDR4 PC4-25600C14 3200MHZ @ 3333MHZ
Geforce RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8192MB
User avatar
JHTrucker
Posts: 665
Joined: February 7th, 2020, 3:19 pm
Location: UK

Re: [DX11] Help regarding Nvidia Profile Inspector (NPI)

Post by JHTrucker » August 1st, 2020, 8:31 pm

@subroutine - Thanks for testing anyway.
High FPS is important for VR and so if this AA worked you wouldn't be happy with the low FPS, i suspect.
100 fps (no AA) --> 50 fps (2xAA) --> 25 (4xAA). That's the AA/FPS ratio's i see with my GTX760 at 3840x1024.
If you are still around... Does the game output to the monitor at the same time as VR? So both are on, 2 output devices at once?
If so, can you force VR output only? with step 1, 2 (single monitor) & 3.
Could you attach your config.cfg file that is used for VR in case there's something there that needs a tweak...

SCS won't add better AA, they've added SMAA and now SSAO, which are both post process effects and as we know SSAO doesn't work with this MSAA.
For best AA results always use latest files.
First post STEP 2 files updated 10/04/2020 viewtopic.php?f=19&t=1000
Additional non standard screen configs to try: viewtopic.php?p=17658#p17658
User avatar
f*red
PPM
Posts: 24
Joined: May 19th, 2020, 10:28 pm

Re: ROEXTENDED 2.7 [1.38]

Post by f*red » August 2nd, 2020, 8:40 am

BenganJ wrote:
July 31st, 2020, 9:49 pm
@f*red

Can you take enough screenshots to cover the whole NPI, then ZIP those together
with the latest game log. Let me then have that zip one way or other. Which type
of graphics card do you have?
Sorry for the ping, have you find anything worth paying attention into that zip?
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 6646
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: ROEXTENDED 2.7 [1.38]

Post by BenganJ » August 2nd, 2020, 2:51 pm

@f*red

I have to apologize, didn't notice it was there. I'll be back!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
Post Reply