Colorado

Forum for American Truck Simulator
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 7535
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Colorado

Post by BenganJ » November 13th, 2020, 8:15 pm

@ponstan

Okay, regarding the pixelated skyboxes, which I can't see from the image you posted, try to create a totally new
profile WITHOUT ANY mods and see if it is the same. Using NPI should NOT be the cause.

After looking in your game log I would suggest 2 things for you to change.
1. First in the Steam Launch Options you can make the following change, as you have 16GB memory.

Code: Select all

From:
-mm_pool_size 4000
To:
-mm_pool_size 8000
2. In your config.cfg you should test to set a V-Sync limit of FPS, as you then will get a constant FPS and a smoother
experience when driving. From game log I assume you have a 144Hz monitor and therefor the following value of 3,
giving you a constant FPS of 48. A value of 4 would give you FPS of 36, but only use that if the 48 doesn't get stable.
Of course you shouldn't do this change if you limit the FPS in another way!

Code: Select all

From:
uset r_vsync "0"
uset t_averaging_window_length "60"
To:
uset r_vsync "3"
uset t_averaging_window_length "96" //If using "3" for r_vsync, "72" if using "4".
Ask if anything isn't clear!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
ponstan
Posts: 22
Joined: July 2nd, 2020, 9:44 am
Location: Greece

Re: Colorado

Post by ponstan » November 14th, 2020, 11:33 am

@BenganJ
Thank you very much for your effort to see all this. I'll give a try today following your advice and let you know about the results. Besides there is a lockdown so plenty of time!!! :bye:
I'm afraid of what you're doing in the name of your God
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 7535
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Colorado

Post by BenganJ » November 14th, 2020, 11:38 am

@ponstan

Good, no hurry, take your time, but report back, please!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
ponstan
Posts: 22
Joined: July 2nd, 2020, 9:44 am
Location: Greece

Re: Colorado

Post by ponstan » November 14th, 2020, 8:07 pm

@BenganJ
Well ... let's start from the beginning. I created a new profile without any mods and settings like the ones you suggested (v-sync 3 etc). The traffic density value has always been set to 3 in config.sys.
The game started at 105 fps and I suppose, that is because in the first seconds, there is no traffic at all.
As the traffic was getting high and high and the areas on the map were changing, fps varying as well. From about 87 fps to 70 depending on the map areas and traffic dencity. Well, so far so good, until I was getting close to big lighted cities and gas stations. The fps dropped to 40-48 , but with a difference. The game was still smooth with great graphics. Of course, as I was driving away from cities, fps increased to 72-80.
You talk about constant fps, but mine varying. Any way, skyboxes are now ok and the game just fine. Maybe I make dumb questions, but I learn a lot.
Last question: Arayas traffic mod is for both ets2 and ats?
Conclusion: Someone has to experiment until he gets the best results and not making just questions. :yes:
With mods or without mods it's the same result!!!
Many many thanks for your help
I'm afraid of what you're doing in the name of your God
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 7535
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Colorado

Post by BenganJ » November 14th, 2020, 8:20 pm

@ponstan

Okay, as you said, you shouldn't have any variations at all in the FPS, UNLESS you use some other
kind of frame synchronization! So, are you perhaps using G-Sync with a compatible monitor? If so
reset r_vsync in config.cfg to "0" again. Setting of g_traffic to "3" will drop the FPS when the AI
starts to appear with that density. If I remember correctly you also use g_grass_density set to "3",
which also will cause a FPS drop in certain vegetation areas. I have had to lower it to "2", at least
in ETS2, which have more such areas than ATS. Correct, without testing you'll never know, so keep
doing that!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
ponstan
Posts: 22
Joined: July 2nd, 2020, 9:44 am
Location: Greece

Re: Colorado

Post by ponstan » November 14th, 2020, 8:52 pm

@BenganJ
You do remember well and the monitor is g-sync compatible. You know if arayas traffic mod is for both ets2 and ats?
Thanks again and have a nice evening!!!
I'm afraid of what you're doing in the name of your God
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 7535
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Colorado

Post by BenganJ » November 14th, 2020, 8:58 pm

@ponstan

No, I think that the one you see is for ETS2 and the one for ATS is under upgrading hands by Arayas.
But who knows, Arayas might chime in and correct me! :laugh3:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
Tapir
PPM
Posts: 1289
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 3:07 pm
Location: Stratford, UK

Re: Colorado

Post by Tapir » November 16th, 2020, 12:08 pm

Cruising Colorado done. :grin:
System: Windows 10 PRO
Processor: Intel i7-6700K @4.5GHz OC
Motherboard: ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming
Memory: G.Skill DDR4-3000 16GB
Graphics: 6GB MSI GeForce GTX 1660 SUPER Gaming X
Storage: 2 Samsung EVO SSD
User avatar
Arayas
Site Admin
Posts: 4042
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 3:25 am

Re: Colorado

Post by Arayas » November 16th, 2020, 2:16 pm

ponstan wrote:
November 14th, 2020, 8:52 pm
@BenganJ
You do remember well and the monitor is g-sync compatible. You know if arayas traffic mod is for both ets2 and ats?
Thanks again and have a nice evening!!!
Each game has its own mod here on forum
User avatar
bogdac
PPM
Posts: 385
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 12:26 pm
Location: West Sussex England

Re: Colorado

Post by bogdac » November 16th, 2020, 2:59 pm

Tapir wrote:
November 16th, 2020, 12:08 pm
Cruising Colorado done. :grin:
Yep, Finished mine last night. Two nice new truck skins! :grin:
Post Reply