Using the Map Editor

User avatar
Arayas
Site Admin
Posts: 7353
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 3:25 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Using the Map Editor

Post by Arayas » December 19th, 2018, 9:20 pm

Today i'm gonna start a topic for people who want to start their own map. We are gonna try here to help you if you need (and if we can :D )

==================================================================================
scs extractor http://download.eurotrucksimulator2.com ... ractor.zip
==================================================================================
Command line for starting the editor:
for a Steam shortcut: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steam.exe" -applaunch 227300 -edit europe -force_mods -64bit -unlimitedlog -conversion_dump_path d:\convert -noworkshop -mm_max_resource_size 100 -mm_max_tmp_buffers_size 1000
for a eurotrucks.exe "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Euro Truck Simulator 2\bin\win_x64\eurotrucks2.exe" -edit europe -force_mods

in Yellow is the target of the applications in my case. For you it may be different so add to your shortcut just the lines after " with a SPACE between the last " and first -.
==================================================================================

1.40 UPGRADE - new mapping system or converting your map.
-for new maps (beginers) and for existing maps: the map is gonna be saved inside your mod folder, the game is gonna create a "user_map" folder where you are gonna find your saves.
=======================================
replace.sii https://sharemods.com/sk3iz57xh7al/replace.zip.html
available commands for replace.sii (xx-old one, yy-new one)

Code: Select all

    vegetation[]: "xx|yy" 
    ter_material[]: "xx|yy" - terrain materials
    road_material[]: "xx|yy" - road materials
    sidewalk_material[]: "xx|yy" - sidewalk materials
    bld_scheme[]: "xx|yy" - building schemes
    model[]: "xx|yy" - models
    vegetation[]: "xx|yy" - vegetations
    road_look []: "xx|yy" - road looks
    ter_profile[]: "xx|yy" - terrain profiles
    railing[]: "xx|yy" - railings on roads
    sign[]: "xx|yy" - lamps/bollars along the road 

mass edit prefabs (just if both are exactly the same) "g_replace_prefab a b" [example g_replace_prefab 12fld 16ats]
=======================================
Converting WALKERS
download this https://sharemods.com/k7jg4x3y5wft/walker2.zip.html
unzip, place into an archive NEXT to the def folder or map folder (not into it, NEXT to it)
start the editor adding the following line to the ones you already have in your ETS editor shortcut -conversion_walker_path /walker2.txt
start the editor, save, close. Walkers converted!
Remove the file and the command afterwards.
===========================

MAP EDITOR TUTORIALS



############OLD WAY--------------->>>>>>>>>>>>>see episode zero from top



I hope the sound it's ok now. If it's bad quality give it 15-20 minutes to fully load on youtube in better quality.























using shoulders and roads with different offset, short video

making a cloned model

ImageImage Image
support@roextended.ro
www.roextended.ro
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 9919
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by BenganJ » December 19th, 2018, 9:23 pm

Aaaah, this is going to be a blast! THANK you for this idea!!! :D
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 9919
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by BenganJ » December 20th, 2018, 12:00 am

Sorry for the double post here! I've watched your video and had no problem at all following you. But I want to ask you about one thing.
When you opened the ME the first time, you gave the command 'edit europe'. I've done that a couple of times too, but NEVER when editing
my own map addon, 'Swedish Islands'. I started out my project by the command 'edit bjmap', meaning I did have zero content to begin
with, but I also had prepared my own background image and registered it in the /def/editor_data.sii file, which I also had made a mod of
and placed in the empty mod folder before starting up the ME the first time. When I got into the editor the first time, I could see that in
order to be able to connect my addon to, in this case, the SCS Vanilla map, I would have to use 2 sectors from that map. So, I then exited
the ME, copied those 2 sectors from the unpacked SCS base.scs file, to the base folder located in the root of ETS2. From now on, I've only
had the original 2 SCS sectors, later edited by me, and also my own newly created sectors. The consequences of this scheme has been, that
1. I have never had to choose sectors to pack in the mod to place in the mod folder, 2. the loading/saving of the map did go much faster.
Whenever I would make a release mod or make a mod for myself to test it, I just renamed the 'bjmap' folder to 'europe' and the file 'bjmap.mbd'
to 'europe.mbd', skipping all that other autosave stuff. Combined with some own stuff later this became the mod to release or test.

Would you please comment on this. For me this scheme has worked pretty good.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
Arayas
Site Admin
Posts: 7353
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 3:25 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by Arayas » December 20th, 2018, 8:17 am

Yes Bengan, you are right and i use this method for Roex or YKS (edit aramap or edit yks).
But this is a starter quide to use the editor in basic way. This demands for base/def files extraction and we are getting too complicated. At some point i will show this to handle your own sectors.
ImageImage Image
support@roextended.ro
www.roextended.ro
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 9919
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by BenganJ » December 20th, 2018, 10:30 am

Oki doki, I REALLY look forward to the continuation! :D Just one thing here.
If possible, could you raise the recorded audio volume?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
Dawid2849
PPM
Posts: 124
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 10:53 am
Location: Biłgoraj, Poland
Contact:

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by Dawid2849 » December 22nd, 2018, 4:16 pm

Thanks for your tutorials, they will be useful to me :)
If it were not for you, I would not even take up fixing the connection for the TSM map.

I wish you the most subscriptions and Merry Christmas!
User avatar
George
Posts: 16
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 4:30 pm
Location: Ploieşti

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by George » December 22nd, 2018, 5:50 pm

Thanks Arayas! This is very useful! ;)
Image
User avatar
Arayas
Site Admin
Posts: 7353
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 3:25 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by Arayas » December 22nd, 2018, 10:16 pm

The road uploaded. Tell me if i forget something :D
ImageImage Image
support@roextended.ro
www.roextended.ro
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 9919
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by BenganJ » December 22nd, 2018, 11:10 pm

Damn, you're a good teacher! I learned a couple of tricks, possibilities, looking at this
third tutorial. And mind you, I have placed a good amount of'em already! Thank you
Arayas for these tutorials, they are gold worth! :D I'm already looking forward to the
4th one! :P
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 9919
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by BenganJ » December 26th, 2018, 1:00 pm

Arayas, when will this Christmas stop? :D Present after present, I haven't
been this happy on a Christmas since I got an electric train system somewhere
around 6 years age! :lol: Thank you for one more episode! :D

EDIT: Damn you Arayas, after having watched the 4th episode I realized that
I have manually edited all the signs in to gas station prefabs and here you just
click on a button to get it all done! :oops: :roll: :twisted: :o :lol:

And Arayas, I hope you get rid of that flu fast! My son got one too just before
Christmas!

EDIT 2: And I haven't even digested episode 4 and now already there's episode 5!
Arayas, you've really got the flu, haven't you!??? :lol: For every new episode I've
got new problems with editing the bad creations on my little map addon, I can't
keep up with you! :x :roll: :lol:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
Post Reply