Using the Map Editor

User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 2917
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by BenganJ » June 14th, 2019, 9:18 pm

**************** THANK YOU ****************
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@3.60GHz
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 2917
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by BenganJ » August 10th, 2019, 8:02 pm

@Arayas

Where on earth do one configure the zoom levels for Map Editor?
I need to see more of the background image in relation to the
actual map data.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@3.60GHz
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
Arayas
Site Admin
Posts: 1827
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 3:25 am

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by Arayas » August 10th, 2019, 9:18 pm

You can't. Just to move the map left or right or make it biggwer or smaller.
Editor of Romania Extended Map
support@roextended.ro
www.roextended.ro
User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 2917
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by BenganJ » August 10th, 2019, 9:25 pm

Okay, that's what I suspected, didn't find any! Thanks anyway!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@3.60GHz
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
sonicstrav
Posts: 3
Joined: August 12th, 2019, 11:06 pm
Location: Co. Leitrim, Ireland

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by sonicstrav » August 17th, 2019, 5:52 pm

I'm just starting with the map editor. I have a heap of mods in the /mod folder, but I want to just start editing on the base map, but this requires an empty /mod folder.

I tried this tutorial https://scsmoddingguide.github.io/mappi ... stmap.html - here only 'edit' is entered in the console to open a blank map with just a car model in the centre - I tried this and it crashed (maybe starting a blank map isn't supported anymore).

If I create a new empty /mod folder, where should the other mods I have go and how can I get ets 2 to load them up e.g. could I have a /mod folder for development and a /modgame folder where I can transfer all my downloaded mods. I've seen something about launching the game with different -homedir parameters using a shortcut for every profile? What's the best way to do this?
User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 2917
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by BenganJ » August 17th, 2019, 6:55 pm

@sonicstrav

Welcome to the forum. To answer a couple of questions of yours. You can have as
many mod folders as you like, I myself have some 10-15 of'em. BUT I rename them
depending on what I use them for, so I have some for gaming and some for editing,
but ONLY ONE can be named ....\EuroTruck Simulator 2. But everyone of'em can
have it's own mod folder.

I also have a corresponding /base folder where SCS keeps it's own base.scs file. I
assume you have one such too and in it there must be another folder called map.

When starting editing, when at profile choosing menu, start the console and use
'edit europe' or just 'edit', at least that worked before, or if you want to call your
map something else, at least while editing, then start by 'edit <your map name>'.

The start-up option '-homedir' is used when you e.g. changed the location for the
game folder, then it is used to point out where the 'Euro Truck Simulator 2' folder
is located. But it can also be used when you have several different locations for
the many 'Euro Truck Simulator 2' folders you have, but I think it's easier to give
one of'em the proper name, by renaming it. It's up to you.

If you haven't watched all of Arayas tutorial videos, do that first of all and I bet
that Arayas will answer here too! :D
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@3.60GHz
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
sonicstrav
Posts: 3
Joined: August 12th, 2019, 11:06 pm
Location: Co. Leitrim, Ireland

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by sonicstrav » August 17th, 2019, 7:57 pm

Hi BenganJ
Thanks for the reply - that's very helpful. I currently have my game mods in the folder C:\...\...\Documents\Euro Truck Simulator 2\mod - if I rename this folder to /modmaingame and create a new empty folder /mod, how do I get the saved profiles to point to the new location as obviously nothing is now found in the \Euro Truck Simulator 2\mod directory?
User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 2917
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by BenganJ » August 17th, 2019, 8:10 pm

@sonicstrav

It would be even better if you do the renaming one level up, i.e.
renaming 'Euro Truck Simulator 2' folder, by just adding some
characters at the end telling what it is for. This way you avoid
the Editor to mess with settings and other stuff in your game
structure. ETS2 and ATS will always create a new standard
folder if there isn't any when starting.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@3.60GHz
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
09_KZ
Posts: 22
Joined: April 2nd, 2019, 6:30 pm

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by 09_KZ » August 17th, 2019, 10:14 pm

sonicstrav wrote:
August 17th, 2019, 5:52 pm
I'm just starting with the map editor. I have a heap of mods in the /mod folder, but I want to just start editing on the base map, but this requires an empty /mod
I did so and it serves for many years. Easy and convenient.

Create a shortcut to the mod folder on your desktop, and next to it is another folder where you will store your mods. Then, depending on how you want to spend time playing, you can quickly move mods from folder to folder if necessary.
sonicstrav
Posts: 3
Joined: August 12th, 2019, 11:06 pm
Location: Co. Leitrim, Ireland

Re: Using the Map Editor

Post by sonicstrav » August 17th, 2019, 10:52 pm

Thanks BenganJ / 09_KZ
As it seems the Mod Manager will only go to the EuroTruckSimulator2/mod folder, I set up shortcuts to 3 folders - mod (empty), modLibrary (contains all my game mods), modDev (for dev use - e.g. if I later wanted to develop on ProMods map etc.), then cut/paste all my mods from mod -> modLibrary. When I'm finished in map editor just transfer them back from modLibrary -> mod. Very easy to do with shortcut links on the desktop. 'edit' is working fine, with a little car in the centre on opening. Now I'm ready to learn this editor and explore!
Post Reply