Opacity of the map

Post Reply
User avatar
MyGodness
Posts: 13
Joined: February 1st, 2020, 2:25 pm

Opacity of the map

Post by MyGodness » March 21st, 2020, 2:32 am

Hi everyone,

I wonder if it's possible to change the opacity of the map (in the menu, in game) ? I don't find it very practical to have a truck in the background when I want to take a screenshot of the map. :lol:

Thanks !
Image Image Image Image
User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 4949
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Opacity of the map

Post by BenganJ » March 21st, 2020, 3:04 am

@MyGodness

I assume you mean the truck animation that is shining through
due to the fact that the map window has an opacity less than
100%, as in this video.


I have never thought of it and a quick look in the map_data.sii
file gave me nothing. That would be the place, I think, where
a parameter would be found, if it were changeable. So, other
than making your own BG truck animation as a totally black one,
and substitute it against one of the menu BG's I haven't a clue!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
]Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
MyGodness
Posts: 13
Joined: February 1st, 2020, 2:25 pm

Re: Opacity of the map

Post by MyGodness » March 21st, 2020, 10:45 am

Thanks BenganJ :) And yes, I was talking about that background.

I also looked in map_data.sii and I didn't find anything there either.

Unfortunately, I don't know how to replace the animation, is it relatively easy to do?
Image Image Image Image
User avatar
Arayas
Site Admin
Posts: 2469
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 3:25 am

Re: Opacity of the map

Post by Arayas » March 21st, 2020, 11:19 am

animation its asked by map.sii from ui/desc
and is described in ui/world_map.sii

try identify the background animation and make it static (or even black)
Editor of Romania Extended Map
support@roextended.ro
www.roextended.ro
User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 4949
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Opacity of the map

Post by BenganJ » March 21st, 2020, 12:04 pm

@MyGodness & @Arayas

The bad thing is that the animation is MODEL type one, which you
create in e.g. Blender and to make it worse, I think it's a two part
one as SCS places the present truck within the other general one.
Correct me if I'm wrong here. Or they just refer to the present
truck model you use within that general anim.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
]Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
ipaho
Posts: 11
Joined: June 22nd, 2019, 1:09 pm

Re: Opacity of the map

Post by ipaho » March 24th, 2020, 3:28 pm

Hello everybody,

why don't you try that mod : https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/ ... 1938342988

I use it with different combos without any issue :)

Have a good day from a French in confinement :D
User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 4949
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Opacity of the map

Post by BenganJ » March 24th, 2020, 3:35 pm

@ipaho

Interesting! But have you looked closely that you don't have the animated truck
rotating there behind the map. I realize that you can't see it around the map with
that mod, but I've tried with a TOTALLY black map BG and the truck shines through
then too. So, SCS has set a non 100% opacity value on the map BG somewhere.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
]Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
ipaho
Posts: 11
Joined: June 22nd, 2019, 1:09 pm

Re: Opacity of the map

Post by ipaho » March 24th, 2020, 4:21 pm

@BenganJ

I've cancelled the background map mod and on a place without any road I've a total plain back without transparency so I can suppose it's what is required by MyGodness.

Try it and you will see ;)
User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 4949
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Opacity of the map

Post by BenganJ » March 24th, 2020, 4:41 pm

@@ipaho

Better off, I have edited my own ATS SAT BG to see if I can see the animation
behind there. I will report back! :D

EDIT: Nah, the test with my own ATS SAT BG was not a success, so I will dive
into the mod you linked to a bit more later when I got time for it. I will still
report back here when done! Thanks for the link! :D
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
]Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
Post Reply