Playing add-ons maps as standalone - simple way (4newbee)

Have ideeas but don't know how?
Post Reply
User avatar
Arayas
Site Admin
Posts: 4042
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 3:25 am

Playing add-ons maps as standalone - simple way (4newbee)

Post by Arayas » April 25th, 2020, 2:50 pm

I know some of you are using Deleted Europe for that but the SCS has evolved and problems may appear.
So this is an alternative: (looks hard but is pretty simple :D )

I will use ROC map as an example, but you can do this on all maps

STEP 1: locate the "map" folder
Every map has 1 or 6 or even 8 scs files. But all maps have in one of the scs file a folder called "map".
in ROC the map folder is here roc01_map136ch191207.scs
Despite the fact most of the maps are locked, the scs containing the "map" folder is open (to permit add-ons to it)

STEP 2: unzip the scs file containing "map" folder (don't use UNPACK HERE option, unzip it in its own folder)
roc1.jpg
STEP 3: add europe.mdb and europe.set files from the archive bellow (use those for any map, doesnt matter)
europe.zip
(371 Bytes) Downloaded 79 times
roc2.jpg
roc3.jpg
roc4.jpg
STEP 4: rename all to "roc" (or whatever name you want but all must be named the same)
roc5.jpg
STEP 5: rebuild the scs archive and move it to the MOD folder (remove or replace the original)
roc6.jpg
roc7.jpg
STEP 6: open the game and start a new profile
STEP 7: activate the map in mod manager (MANDATORY)
STEP 8: choose to play roc.mdb and not europe
roc8.jpg
ENJOY your standalone map.
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 7535
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Playing add-ons maps as standalone - simple way (4newbee)

Post by BenganJ » April 25th, 2020, 2:57 pm

@Arayas

Why making that much fuzz when you just can download a mod called Delete Europe and
add at the bottom of the load list. That's ALL! No problems with locked map mods either!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
Arayas
Site Admin
Posts: 4042
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 3:25 am

Re: Playing add-ons maps as standalone - simple way (4newbee)

Post by Arayas » April 25th, 2020, 3:01 pm

Reason 1:
Because SCS area is expanding and that mod can be obsolete in some point.
Reason 2:
Because the game will cache the empty sectors anyway and it always redender their presence in the game

My option is clean.
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 7535
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Playing add-ons maps as standalone - simple way (4newbee)

Post by BenganJ » April 25th, 2020, 3:06 pm

@Arayas

Well, for me it has always worked, as long as I place the Delete Europe mod at the bottom,
then the map itself on top of that. There might be cases for your method too and is a pure,
clean approach, no doubt! The same scheme we use when editing addon maps, you and me!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
Arayas
Site Admin
Posts: 4042
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 3:25 am

Re: Playing add-ons maps as standalone - simple way (4newbee)

Post by Arayas » April 25th, 2020, 3:13 pm

Yes, i use this even creating my map or road connections, i save the sectors i'm working on, not the whole europe.
And is easy to spot the "bogus" sectors that editor is still saving everytime.
User avatar
BenganJ
Moderator
Posts: 7535
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Playing add-ons maps as standalone - simple way (4newbee)

Post by BenganJ » April 25th, 2020, 3:16 pm

@Arayas
So DAMN true! :D
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image
User avatar
paokkerkir
PPM
Posts: 234
Joined: April 10th, 2020, 10:35 pm
Location: Corfu, Greece

Re: Playing add-ons maps as standalone - simple way (4newbee)

Post by paokkerkir » April 25th, 2020, 3:19 pm

This is an easy and useful guide! Thank you.
Serb1205
PPM
Posts: 9
Joined: May 20th, 2020, 4:45 pm

Re: Playing add-ons maps as standalone - simple way (4newbee)

Post by Serb1205 » December 4th, 2020, 5:56 pm

All Filles Must Have Same Name?
User avatar
Arayas
Site Admin
Posts: 4042
Joined: December 15th, 2018, 3:25 am

Re: Playing add-ons maps as standalone - simple way (4newbee)

Post by Arayas » December 4th, 2020, 6:12 pm

if you talk about MDB and sectors folder yes.
Post Reply